“HSK 4 takes 300 hours” is not an official HSK total
Official HSK material gives a weekly class pattern, not a 300-hour total. The 2021 nine-level standard and the exam rollout moved on different clocks.

“HSK 4 takes about 300 hours.” That total is not stated by the official HSK material. More importantly, “HSK 4” did not switch from one exam to another on a single date in 2021.
What changed in 2021 — and what did not
China's Ministry of Education published the Chinese Proficiency Grading Standards for International Chinese Language Education in 2021. The standard took effect on 1 July 2021 and describes proficiency in three bands and nine levels. It is a reference framework for learning, teaching, testing and assessment.
That did not mean the six existing HSK exams disappeared on 1 July. In the Ministry's own Q&A, the plan was to upgrade HSK against the standard “while ensuring the stability of the existing six levels.” The standard and the exam rollout are related, but they are not the same event.
The transition is still visible in the official record
Chinese Testing International's 2026 calendar lists HSK Levels 1–6 and HSK Levels 7–9 as separate offerings. Its notice for the HSK 3.0 exam scheduled for 20 September 2026 calls that event the second global pilot. That is more precise than saying six levels were replaced by nine in 2021.
What the official HSK material actually says about time
The official HSK Level IV page describes its intended test taker as someone who has studied for four semesters at two to four class hours per week and mastered 1,200 commonly used words. It does not state a cumulative 300-hour requirement. Converting semesters and weekly classes into one total requires an extra assumption about the number of teaching weeks, and the page does not supply it.
So “HSK 4 takes 300 hours” is not an official total. To make any HSK hour estimate usable, name the exam version, quote the official level description, identify who produced the estimate, and state whether it counts class time, homework or both.
The same source boundary matters when reading JLPT hour estimates. It also matters before translating an HSK level into a general proficiency label, because the HSK-to-CEFR mapping is disputed. A level number, an equivalence and an hour estimate are three separate claims; each needs its own source.
Sources
Every figure above, and where it came from. A post that traces other people's unsourced numbers does not get to have any of its own.
- 教育部中外语言交流合作中心负责人就《国际中文教育中文水平等级标准》答记者问 — Ministry of Education, People's Republic of China
The 2021 standard introduced three bands and nine levels and took effect on 1 July 2021. The Ministry said HSK would be upgraded against it while preserving the stability of the existing six levels.
- 2026 Test Calendar — Chinese Testing International
The official 2026 calendar lists HSK Levels 1–6 and HSK Levels 7–9 as separate test offerings, showing that the exam transition did not happen as a single replacement in 2021.
- HSK 3.0 Second Global Pilot Examination Notice — Chinese Testing International
The official notice calls the HSK 3.0 examination scheduled for 20 September 2026 the second global pilot and lists the pilot's Level 1–6 structure.
- HSK Level IV — Chinese Testing International
The official Level IV description specifies four semesters, two to four class hours per week and 1,200 commonly used words. It does not state a cumulative 300-hour total.